About Us

Loyola Worker Coalition unites our graduate student union, non-tenure track faculty union, undergrad students, tenured faculty, alumni, and other community allies around our shared stake in more equitable higher ed & a stronger community. In our efforts to improve our working conditions, the Non-Tenure Track Faculty and Graduate Student Workers at Loyola University Chicago have come together to fight for better teaching and learning conditions at the university.

Non-Tenure Track Faculty Union

Non-tenure track (NTT) faculty members now comprise over 60% of the teaching staff at Loyola University Chicago. NTT Faculty unionized in January 2016 under the banner of SEIU Faculty Forward, which includes colleagues at Tufts, Boston University, Georgetown, and at Washington University in St. Louis. In May 2018, NTT Faculty finally agreed on a Collective Bargaining Agreement after years of struggle, organizing, and bargaining.

The NTT Faculty Union Executive Board for 2018-2019 Academic Year includes:

Full-Time Faculty Co-Chair: Emma Feeney (enielse@luc.edu)

Part-Time Faculty Co-Chair: Alyson Paige Warren (awarren3@luc.edu)

Chief Steward: Sarita Heer (sheer@luc.edu)

Recording Secretary: Deb Goodman (dgoodma@luc.edu)

Department representatives: Contact them to help you with any problems you face in your department, particularly matters covered by our contract. Among other things, one can accompany you to any meetings which you believe will be disciplinary.

Department/Cluster

PT Rep

FT Rep

ANTHROPOLOGY

Thea Strand (tstrand@luc.edu)

BIOLOGY

Emma Feeney(enielse@luc.edu)

& Diane Jokinen (djokine@luc.edu)

CHEMISTRY & BIOCHEMISTRY/PHYSICS

COMPUTER SCIENCE

CRIMINAL JUSTICE

Brandi Vigil (bvigil@luc.edu)

ELLP

ENGLISH

Brian Mornar (brianmornar@gmail.com)

& Andrew Welch (andyroowelch@gmail.com)

Julie Fiorelli (jfiorelli@luc.edu)

& Laura Goldstein (lauragoldst@gmail.com)

FINE AND PERFORMING ARTS Dance/Theater

Deb Goodman (dgoodma@luc.edu)

Lee Keenan (lkeenan@luc.edu)

FINE AND PERFORMING ARTS Fine Arts

Sarita Heer (sheer@luc.edu)

FINE AND PERFORMING ARTS Music

Frank Babbitt(babbworld@aol.com)

& Lara Driscoll (lara@laradriscoll.com)

MATHEMATICS

John Houlihan (jhouli1@luc.edu)

& Matt Bourque (mattjbourque@gmail.com)

MODERN LANGUAGES

Dennis Martinez (dmartine09@gmx.com)

PHILOSOPHY/PSYCHOLOGY

Robbie Duncan (rduncan1@luc.edu)

Vince Samar (vsamar@luc.edu)

SOCIOLOGY/WOMEN’S STUDIES/BLACK WORLD STUDIES/POLITICAL SCIENCE/HISTORY

Matt Williams (m.williams.777@att.net)

Graduate Student Union

Graduate student workers voted to unionize with SEIU in early 2017. Graduate student workers continue to take on more and more of the responsibilities once reserved for tenure-track professors, such as assisting in and teaching classes, conducting research, and working in administrative positions, but LUC administration has refused to bargain with them since then.


 

It’s because we care about the future of our students and LUC that we are hoping that you will support us by getting involved and fighting for change on this campus.